My Top 25 Films of 2015!

inside-out
“He didn’t include Fury Road in his list?” (Source: Walt Disney Pictures)

We are firmly in February 2016. So why am I only bothering to compile my best of 2015 list now? Well, a number of reasons; many of this year’s award seasons films weren’t released here in the UK until the “dump month” of January and as they are technically 2015 films (despite a 2016 release date), naturally I had to wait around to see them. As I compiled my 2014 best of list in December 2014 (I used to be so punctual!), many awards season films from last year weren’t included and I’ve excluded them from this list as they aren’t “2015 films” despite UK 2015 release dates. Send my apologies to Whiplash, Selma, The Tale of Princess Kaguya, Foxcatcher and Inherent Vice.

Secondly, some films on this list haven’t been released in the UK yet, but film festival screenings (and the fact they have been distributed theatrically internationally) has led me to include them. Some films I’ve seen already that aren’t included, such as Green Room, are not on the list as they haven’t been released theatrically anywhere, with only a chosen few at festivals getting to see them. This is why 4 films that premiered at Cannes in 2014 and a further film that premiered in Venice in 2014 are on the list; they weren’t released here or in the US until 2015. Confused? Well, so am I. Here are my top 25 favourite movies of 2015, with links to original reviews (if I bothered writing one, of course).

25) Goodnight Mommy (Dir: Veronika Franz, Severin Fiala) 

24) White God (Dir: Kornél Mundruczó)

23) Sicario (Dir: Denis Villeneuve) 

(Original review)

22) The Gift (Dir: Joel Edgerton)

(My Original Film Inquiry Review)

21) Timbuktu (Dir: Abderrahmane Sissako)

20) Wild Tales (Dir: Damián Szifron)

(My Original Film Inquiry Review)

19) Anomalisa (Dir: Charlie Kaufman)

18) The Martian (Dir: Ridley Scott)

(Original Review)

17) Steve Jobs: (Dir: Danny Boyle)

(Original Review)

16) Phoenix (Dir: Christian Petzold)

15) Son of Saul (Dir: László Nemes)

(Original Review)

 

14) The Hateful Eight (Dir: Quentin Tarantino)

(Original Review)

13) Love and Mercy (Dir: Bill Pohlad)

(My Original Film Inquiry Review)

12) Spectre (Dir: Sam Mendes)

(Original Review)

11) Shaun the Sheep Movie (Dir: Mark Burton/Richard Starzak)

(My Original Film Inquiry Review)

10) The Diary of a Teenage Girl (Dir: Marielle Heller)

(Original Review)

9) Ex_Machina (Dir: Alex Garland)

(Original Review)

8) Bridge of Spies (Dir: Steven Spielberg)

7) The Lobster (Dir: Yorgos Lanthimos)

(Original review at Film Inquiry)

6) The Duke of Burgundy (Dir: Peter Strickland)

(Original Review)

(My PopOptiq British Sexploitation Feature)

5) Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Dir: JJ Abrams)

(Read my original Film Inquiry Review)

4) The Look of Silence (Dir: Joshua Oppenheimer)

(Read my Original Film Inquiry Review)

(Read my Film Inquiry Interview with director Joshua Oppenheimer)

 

3) Mommy (Dir: Xavier Dolan)

(Read my original Film Inquiry Review)

2) Carol (Dir: Todd Haynes)

(Read my original review over at Film Inquiry)

  1. Inside Out (Dir: Pete Docter/Ronnie Del Carmen)

(Read my Original Review)

Leave a Reply

